Skip to main content

Sharon Abramson Research Grant

The Holocaust Educational Foundation of Northwestern University (HEFNU) awards Sharon Abramson Research Grants to support research related to the Holocaust. Doctoral candidates nearing completion of their dissertations and scholars from all disciplines and career stages (including independent scholars) are eligible for this grant, which supports activities conducted during the academic year (September to September) following the award of the grant.

Visit the application page for more information and to apply. The deadline is in early February each year.

2020 Recipients
Gaelle Fisher, Postdoctoral Researcher
Center for Holocaust Studies at the Institute for Contemporary History in Munich
“Making Sense of Catastrophe: The Jewish Leadership in Romania 1938-1948”

Emil Kjerte, Graduate Student
Clark University
“Ustaša Killing Specialists: The Personnel of the Jasenovac Camp Complex”

Aliza Luft, Assistant Professor
University of California, Los Angeles
“Sacred Treason: How French Bishops Defected From Vichy to Save Jews During the Holocaust”

Nick Underwood, Assistant Professor
College of Idaho
“Plural Jewish Communities: Yiddish Culture and Jewish Migration in Post-Holocaust France”

Kerry Wallach, Associate Professor and Chair
Gettysburg College
“Rahel Szalit-Marcus, a Jewish Artist in Berlin and Paris”

Alternate Awardees

Simon Goldberg, Graduate Student
Clark University
“Writing and Rewriting the History of the Kovno Ghetto”

Elysa McConnell, Graduate Student
University of Ottawa
“Fascist Italy and the ‘Other’: Italianization and the Holocaust in the Triveneto Borderlands, 1918-1948”

Past Sharon Abramson Research Grant Recipients

Back to top